Yoga vs. Science | Principles | Paths | Yoga Traditions
Health and Yoga | Yoga Accessories | Yoga Institutes | Articles | Glossary
Raja yoga
Steps in Raja Yoga
Raja Yoga Meditation
Advanced Raja Yoga
Raja Yoga is the "kingly" science of the mind. It is the 'Union with the Soul' through the right use of the mind.

It is the spiritual path by which one attains union with the Absolute through the concentration of mind.

Raja Yoga is also called the "Eightfold Yoga", the "Royal Yoga", and "Pantanjali's Yoga". It is the path of achieving God-realization by following eight steps of spiritual practice . These eight steps are also called the Eight Limbs of Yoga. They are:

  • Yama or Abstinence from vices

  • Niyama or Observance of purity, contentment and penance

  • Asana or Posture suitable for meditation

  • Pranayam or Regulation of breath and control of the body's vital energies

  • Pratyahar or Withdrawal of the sense organs from the sense objects

  • Dharna or Fixing the mind on any object

  • Dhyana or Meditation

  • Samadhi or The super-conscious state - the ultimate state of meditation.
It is the true system of developing psychic and spiritual powers and union with one's higher self or the Ego. It involves the exercise, regulation, and concentration of thought.

Raja Yoga is also one of the four major Yogic paths of Hinduism. Raja Yoga involves psychophysical meditational techniques to attain experience of the truth and finally achieve liberation described in Hindu thought to be moksha.

Raja Yoga is the clearest method of attaining self-mastery over your own life. Unwanted habits are banished forever, stress is replaced with peace, worry is transformed into well being. Experiencing the power of this unique and effortless form of meditation, will revert the silence of the soul in its original perfection.

It is said that the original propounder of classical Yoga was Hiranyagarbha. It is Patanjali Maharishi who formulated this science into a definite system under the name of Ashtanga Yoga or Raja Yoga. Often called "the father of yoga," Patanjali was the person who codified his thoughts and knowledge of yoga in The Yoga Sutra of Patanjali.

This forms one of the Shad-Darsananas or Classical Systems of Philosophy.

Raja Yoga starts with the mind. Its goal is a complete stilling of the mind, so that the light of the indwelling spirit may shine out. It makes use of asana and pranayama, and some consider it merely another name for Ashtanga Yoga. Patanjali's Raja Yoga is generally termed the Ashtanga Yoga or the Yoga of Eight Limbs, through the practice of which freedom is achieved.


Home : Articles : About us : Site Map : - India Business Directory